Royal National Theater

The Royal National Theater is located next to the Thames in the south Bank area of central London. It is the home of the National Theater, one of UK’s two publicly funded theater companies along with the Royal Shakespeare Company. It is also known more popularly as The National or simply the National Theater.

National Theater History

The original National Theater was initially based at the Old Vic theater located in Waterloo from 1963 to 1976. It has since relocated to its current address from that time on. The current building was designed by architects Sir Denys Lasdun and Peter Softley.

National Theater Features

The design for the National Theater follows a Brutalism architectural style. It stands 47 meters high and consists of three separate auditoria. The main auditorium is the Olivier Theater and is modeled after an ancient Greek theater found at Epidaurus. It consist of an open stage and a fan-shaped audience seating able to accommodate 1,160 people.

The Lyttelton Theater follows a proscenium arch design that can accommodate about 890 people. The Cottesloe Theater is the smallest of the three. It is a small and adaptable studio space that can accommodate up to 400 people, depending on how the seating area is configured. The compound has recently incorporated a lighting scheme that illuminates the building exterior at night which has become quite popular.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.